Iaido Division

Iaido focuses on the drawing and use of the traditional Japanese sword. It is widely regarded as a form of moving meditation, and it’s practiced in several nations.

In the Bugei Ryuha Daijiten, Hayashizaki Jinsuke (Minamoto no) Shigenobu is credited with establishing an art in the sixteenth century that is practiced as iaido today. However, about a century before his birth, iaijutsu was developed by Iizasa Ienao, creator of Tenshin Shoden Katori Shinto Ryu. Both older and modern versions of iaido and iaijutsu can be found within the SMAA Iaido Division, which is lead by Nicklaus Suino Sensei (Shihan and eigth dan) and Guy Power Sensei (Shihan and seventh dan). Suino Sensei and Power Sensei both lived in Japan for several years, where they studied under top iaido experts.

Suino Sensei’s background is in Muso Jikiden Eishin Ryu, while Power Sensei practices Nakamura Ryu and Toyama Ryu. The SMAA Iaido Division, however, is open to any form of iaido with a legitimate lineage that can be traced to a Japanese founder.

Among the prominent members of the SMAA Iaido Division are Suzuki Kunio Sensei (Nakamura Ryu and Toyama Ryu), Paul Martin Sensei (Onoha Itto Ryu), Mr. Dave Lowry (Yagyu Shinkage Ryu), Hunter Armstrong Sensei (Yagyu Shinkage Ryu), John Evans Sensei (Toyama Ryu and Nakamura Ryu), Wayne Muromoto Sensei (Takeuchi Ryu and Muso Jikiden Eishin Ryu), Nyle Monday Sensei (Tenshin Shoden Katori Shinto Ryu and Toyama Ryu), and Stephen Fabian Sensei (Hontai Yoshin Ryu and Toyama Ryu).


Download your Free Guide to Budo and Koryu Bujutsu! Download your Free Guide to
Budo and Koryu Bujutsu!